Documentation and dissemination of the history of Denmark in Greenland and the Arctic

Governing Body

The governing body of the Artic Institute is composed of a number of permanently designated members of Danish and Greenland authorities and institutions of importance to Danish/Greenland relations. The Institute attaches great importance to fact that all members of the Governing Body have broad knowledge of Danish/Greenland conditions, and that the composition of the members of the Governing Body ensure and optimum contact as regards Greenland, the Arctic and the Greenland environment in Denmark. The Governing Body plays a decisive part in the development of the Artic Institute. The present Governing Body comprises the following members:




Minik Rosing, professor

Vice Chairman

Karin Elsbudóttir, director of the North Atlantic House

Download short CV here >

Representative of the Kraemers Grønlandsfond

Naja Mikkelsen, senior research associate

Download short CV here >


Bjarne Grønnow, professor

Download short CV here > 

Representative of The Greenland Representation

Jens Heinrich, head of Representation and Ph.D. from Ilisimatusarfik.

Download short CV here >

Representative of The Greenlandic Society

Bjarne Erbo Grønfeldt, former head of office for the Royal Family


Inge Høst Seiding, head of Institute at University of Greenland/Ilisimatusarfik

Download short CV here >


Bo Lidegaard, author and political analyst

Download short CV here >


Henrik Dahl, lawyer

Download short CV here >




Chairmen of the board since 1954

Many famous greenlandic related figures have acted as Chairmen for Danish Arctic Institute and have thus contributed to the institutes advancement:

  • Ejnar Mikkelsen, Polar Researcher 1954-1963
  • Helge Larsen, Museum Inspector 1963-1980
  • Sven Thostrup, Vice admiral 1981-1993
  • C.C. Resting-Jeppesen, former 'Kæmner' 1993-1999
  • Isi Foighel, Professor 1999-2004
  • Peter Augustinus, Adm. director 2005-2012
  • Leo Bjørnskov, former Permanent Secretary 2012-2014
  • Nils Bernstein, former National Bank Governor, 2014-2021

Daily management since 1954

The daily management of Danish Arctic Institute has been handled by a number of directors and business leaders who have spearheaded the institute: 

  • Helge Larsen, Museum Inspector 1954-1963
  • J.V. Helk, Colonel 1963-1976  
  • N.O. Christensen, former Governor 1976-1987
  • C.C. Resting-Jeppesen, former 'Kæmner' 1987-1993
  • Grethe Knutzen 1993-1995
  • Jens Fabricius, M.A. 1995-2000
  • Leif Vanggaard, Staff physician 2000-2006
  • Bent Nielsen, Eskimolog, Ph.D. 2006-

Strandgade 102, 1. sal
DK-1401 København K

Opening Hours:

Monday - Thursday 9:00-16:00, Friday 9:00-15.00

We recommend that you contact us and makes an appointment before visiting

Bent Nielsen, Ph.D., director

+45 32 31 50 50